OmniFocus 3 vs ClickUp

So perhaps opposed to most, I’m a real world business owner (restaurant) pushing the boundaries of tech in my industry… (very much a geek as well)

I’m new here, so sorry if this repeats, and I realize that what platform you choose is super personal, but…

I’m currently evaluating OmniFocus 3 (all three platforms) and using ClickUp (a fairly new in the game platform)

Love some things on both, what perhaps is anyones best STRATEGY in evaluating these things?

Use one exclusively for 30 days then switch? Try them side by side?

Any feedback is great, and thanks…

Chef Tony

1 Like

Well I doubt your far from alone in being a real world business owner here but anyway.

Before I test anything I always try to work out what I really need from it, not what I would like but what core functions does it have to be able to fulfil without friction. Then move on to other considerations, such as other features, looks, platform etc. That way you can probably save a lot of testing and time beforehand.

For me, having tried most task managers I come back to Omnifocus, I would like (very) basic collaboration features but not enough to consider switching.

1 Like

" Before I test anything I always try to work out what I really need from it, not what I would like but what core functions does it have to be able to fulfil without friction."

From experience (I’ve been trying out task-management apps since more or less they were invented for the Mac, at least), I can only underline the importance of what TheOD has written above.

Write down the task-management functions that you really want and need, and only afterwards look at the choices of applications on offer. Then evaluate the choices against your feature “must-have” list.