Honest Question, what notes do people actually take?

Not trying to troll I genuinely do not understand the whole PKB thing… I have been using a Mac for over 20 years and a Windows PC before that, as of now I have maybe 50 notes in DevonThink most of which are the result of trying to get on board with wiki linking and can probably nearly all be deleted.

I have tried

1. Omni Outliner could not find any real use case for this.
  2. Drafts app, love it because most things I create in there are temporary then disappear
  3. Notion, a new addition, databases are really useful and have taken a few spreadsheet needs away most other things not.
  4. DevonThink, now really only used for invoice storage, a few PDF’s and bookmarking.

Others which did not make the grade, Evernote, Bear, etc etc etc…

My only real usage case is for code snippets which at the moment are in DT but should probably exist in VS code, even most of these are transitory in that code practices change or are unlikely to be used again

I am honestly intrigued, I feel I am missing out on the whole notes revolution but am I really? When I have tried to store notes most just sat in (then) Evernote and never really got referenced, and when I ditched EN most went the same way as EN…

So what am I missing?

I personally wouldn’t worry about it. I wouldn’t waste time trying to find out how it fits. I usually let my intution/gut instincts/Spidey Sense to tell me. This might be a case of FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out). I have friends that were on that Pokemon Go craze a few years ago. I hung out with a friend that travelled around the city for a bit hunting for these Pokemon. I realized “nope, not for me…” I think my current feelings about PKM are along the same vein.