Hi everyone

Hi everyone

Tell us who you are and what you do.

Hi, I live in England and work for a charity - my job involves a lot of research, writing and training.

How did you first get into the productivity world?

I used to be freelance and I started using Remember the Milk because someone told me about it - didn’t think to look for alternatives! I guess that was my first foray, kinda? I learned about GTD through a seminar at work.

How did you find the Guild?

By searching for articles / blogs about Things, after which I lurked for a bit. I have actually now switched to TickTick but it’s thanks to Things that I found this site.

What’s one thing you’ve learned that has impacted you most?

The idea of doing a weekly review - this has transformed my life!

2 Likes

I’d love to read about how you use TickTick! I remembered this app in passing but forgot to look at it. It’s great to see this as a cross-platorm app!

I’m a wannabe aspiring writer. What tools or workflows do you use? Perhaps you can write up a post about that. The last time I did any serious writing was back in the college days many eons ago! I currently have my nose deep into Stephen King’s On Writing and the Elements of Style right now. I enjoyed The Sweet Setup Ulysses video course and was able to peek into the workflows of a few writers. I’m curious to learn about yours.

Hope to hear more from you and everyone else on the Guild!

2 Likes

Thanks for the welcome!

I’m still figuring out my workflow and seeing what works - some things are nice ideas but then I don’t actually use them - but so far my set-up looks like this:

• I use lists for areas of focus (eg work, career, personal, reading, home etc) and for some larger ongoing projects. You can put lists in folders but I don’t use these much (except I have a folder with some template lists - the free version is restricted to nine lists just FYI)
  • I have tags for all my contexts plus waiting for, agendas etc