Do I need tags In omnifocus?

Hey everyone,

So as you can probably tell by the title…it’s a weird one.

I have what I believe to be a pretty good system for me in OmniFocus.

It works. I’ve done the numerous OmniFocus courses, including Joes, Learn OmniFocus, and I am half way through Kourosh Dini’s book.

I’ve been using OmniFocus for around three years now, and with the implementation of Tags in 3, I’m yet to see a compelling workflow for them. To me, it seems like extra time and categorisation for no reason…or am I wrong?

Could any of you share, how the tags fit into your workflow? Do you use tags and custom perspectives, do you have a review system for tags? Or is there something else entirely with tags I’m missing out on?

The reason I ask is I use custom perspectives and repeating tasks to show up for projects but would like to see if there is a better workflow that I am missing out on.

I appreciate your time on this.

Hey Martin! Great question.

I know not everyone has been the biggest fan of tags, and that’s alright. There’s no pressure or obligation to use them in a software like OmniFocus. Use what works for you. That being said, there are a number of use cases for tags. I’m working on putting together some videos for our Pro members on the topic of OmniFocus 3, and tagging will be a part of it.

@timstringer has a great page listing out lots of options.

https://learnomnifocus.com/tags/

My #1 use for tags is delineating between daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annual habits/routines/tasks inside perspectives. It really helps me break items down! In a lot of other instances, I use them like contexts, where I maybe have one tag there just to help me find a task if I need it.

I, however, used OmniFocus 2 for years without really touching contexts extensively. If they don’t make sense in your workflow, don’t use them :slight_smile:

2 Likes